THAT ONE CALL (Episode 1) – short story

Dear Reader,

Welcome! Sorry it took so long to send another moving piece your way. So this is my first story which will be presented in episodes! Yaay!! This story is very different to my previous masterpieces; however, it is still very emotional and takes you on a thrilling journey – Also, the suspense and intensity will be building up and increasing as the episodes go on – I promise. Just try to be patient and enjoy the ride…

DISCLAIMER: So, thanks to my close pals, I have to do this; for the avoidance of doubt, it’s necessary to stress that everything in here purely FICTION…this isn’t a memoir or autobiography or reminiscing of the past…just imagined scenarios. So, to those crazy pals of mine, I am not the character in the story…lol…thank you. Of course, I always throw in some exaggerated bits of reality to make your headache worse so keep racking your brains…hehehe.

The time was 7:45 am. I had barely woken up and was about sitting in my home office chair when my phone rang loudly. I was briefly startled in my near-dazed state before quickly adjusting to the realities around. Nokia phones and their sounds, huh? I shook my head. I looked at the caller id and realised it wasn’t a saved contact so for a brief moment I wondered who could be calling this early in the morning? Who could be the reason for the heart attack I had momentarily risked? I reluctantly picked the phone.

Hello

Hi” it was a female voice. My curiosity was peaked.

How are you this lovely morning?

I’m great and you?” I couldn’t place the voice. None of my female pals was this sweet nor sounded this romantic on phone when talking to me. Her voice was angelic to say the least.

And what is making your voice sound so romantic and sexy this early morning? Didn’t realise you had that in you…” she giggled slightly – in a teasing manner – after asking.

I was dumbfounded now. Someone found my morning, bored phone voice romantic and sexy? Wow!

I sound romantic and sexy?” I asked unable to hide my surprise as much as I wished to.

Yeah and you can imagine my shock…hehe

At this point it dawned on me that I still didn’t know whom exactly I was talking to so after a short awkward giggle I asked, “May I know who I’m speaking to though?

A momentary pause.

Seriously? You lost my number? [pause] and don’t recognise my voice?” she queried with a pained and slightly annoyed voice.

 I felt bad immediately. If this turned out to be a close friend, it was going to be really be awkward.

I almost gave her the ‘I’m using a new phone’ excuse but on second thought I chose good old honesty to lead the charge.

I’m sorry but it looks like it. Very sorry that I’m struggling with the voice too” I replied making sure to sound as apologetic as possible to attract some leniency.

She sighed.

A pause.

It’s me Mina. Wilhelmina Opare.

Pause.

I surely didn’t know anyone by that name. For the life of me, I didn’t even know Wilhelmina was a name much more have a friend or acquaintance by that name. That’s a name one would always remember if you knew someone called so. I breathed easy finally.

You said Wilhelmina?

Yes” She responded sounding a bit more hurt and annoyed.

I quickly remarked, more confidently this time but still in an apologetic manner “so sorry, but that’s a name I’m sure I would have remembered but I don’t seem to recognise it though. I’m thinking you’ve called the wrong line.

She gasped.

For a few seconds, I could hear her fidgeting with her phone and whatever else she held in her hand then with much shock in her voice she exclaimed, “I’M SO SORRY. Very very sorry. I think I dialled the wrong number. Sorry, I feel so embarrassed.

I couldn’t help but giggle but then, almost immediately, I also sought to calm her down and assure her of no offence. I loved her voice anyway.

Oh don’t worry, I do that sometimes too. Hehe, these numbers are always hard to remember and dial. I think I even once called a mallam from how the other person sounded on the line.

She laughed out loud. Mission accomplished. I smiled.

You are funny” she remarked still amidst laughter. She sounded a bit more relieved and calm though. I was glad.

Thanks for making this less awkward and embarrassing. You sound like a nice person.

Well, who wouldn’t after his voice has been described as romantic and sexy?” I quickly retorted.

Oh my God!” she quickly responded clearly blushing in my mind’s eye.

Can’t believe I said that to a total stranger this early morning – oh my God!” she continued.

Oh don’t worry. This guy likes compliments so you’re safe. You actually made my morning and got me smiling like an idiot so yeah you did good!

For the second time in minutes, she burst out laughing uncontrollably and this time I joined in with delight.

I’m Riejancholo by the way, Mina, and I think your voice is romantic too if it helps” I said just as the laughter was dying down.

Awww, now I’m shy” she quickly remarked and giggled a bit more.

I was enjoying this.

Riejancholo, what kind of name is it? Are you Spanish?” she asked upon regaining her composure.

Oh no. I am Ghanaian, born and raised but it is actually French.

Oh okay. It is a lovely name. I’m sure it gets you a lot of girls…hehe. What does it mean though?

I laughed.

Thanks, I wish! My black face normally scares them away before they can hear the name.

For the third time in minutes, she burst out laughing. Man was on a roll this bright morning.

Well, it means Smiling Angel; not that I smile a lot though…hehe

Awww, that’s a very lovely name!!!” she exclaimed. “I so love it!! Why don’t you smile though, blackie? Shouldn’t you be living up to your name? Or you’re not even an angel come to think of it? Hehehe.

I couldn’t help but laugh. Someone was in a teasing mood.

See this one ooo” I quickly replied. “I’m a delightful angel, w’ate?

She giggled.

Come to think of it. Why Wilhelmina? What does yours mean?

Well, you’ll have to ask my old parents that but, depending on who you ask, it means either ‘Resolute Protection’, ‘Willing to Protect’ or ‘will [wear] helmet’, believe it or not. I guess they all signify the desire to protect something; be it person or head…hehehe, but, personally, I go with the former two. They make a bit more sense and attract less giggles and eye widenings.

I replied, “Wow, so it’s the female version of William?

Yeah, and another variation of Vilma or Mimi.” She immediately explained.

Oh wow! I think I know of Mimi. Well, that’s a nice name with a beautiful meaning. I think I prefer the first two meanings too so let’s go with those.

Another giggle.

You’re funny!

I’m even in shock too. Never knew I had it in me mpo

More giggling.

READ ALSO: ‘THE DIARY OF A STALKER’ SERIES… Story 1: WHY CONGO??

So shouldn’t you be trying to reach your boyfriend?” I asked mischievously hoping the response doesn’t end this lovely conversation.

Oh Mark? I’ll call him later, maybe after work; his number and yours differ by just a digit and that was my mistake. By the way, he’s just a friend I recently reconnected with and not my boyfriend.

For a strange yet funny reason, my heart fluttered at her last statement and an uncontrollably cheerful smile crept across my lips. This was a very good morning.

Oh okay, but I’m guessing such a romantic voice is surely not lacking a prince charming…

You’ll be surprised she is…”

Oh saa?

Yeah but I have to go. I’ve enjoyed this surprise conversation but I’m almost at the office now.

Oh okay, no worries and now that you have my number accidentally, be sure not to lose it; don’t allow yourself to miss out on all this laughter. I’m also on WhatsApp just in case.

Sure” she quickly remarked seemingly delighted, “I’ll definitely be sure to accidentally call you again.

We both laughed.

Before she ended the call though, she suddenly asked, “Riejancholo, can I ask how old you are?

I smiled. Not only did she mention my name impeccably but that question indicated a desired interest in knowing more about this stranger and that made my heart glad.

Well, will you tell me yours if I tell you mine?” I quickly retorted.

Okay, I don’t mind.

Good. I turn 30 in two months’ time.

I could hear the sigh of relief from her end even though she tried to be stealthy about it. Good sign. I chuckled quietly with a sense of satisfaction.

Well, I’m also 28 or, yeah, I turn 28 in December.

Nice.

She giggled.

I’m game for any other questions you might have so don’t worry.

She sounded delighted.

Great! We’ll continue on WhatsApp then if that’s okay till I get off work.

I’d love that.” I replied and I meant every bit of it. “Just send me hi and we’ll take it from there.

Okay, thanks. Thanks for being so nice and friendly to a stranger and for being a gentleman.

It was my delightful pleasure, Mimi [pause]…or do you prefer Mina?

Mina is fine…hehe

And with that the lovely call which changed the trajectory of life ended. Not once that morning though did I see any of the events which happened after this fated call coming; I would have worn a metallic hard hat.

TO BE CONTINUED…

Agostino.

Hi, if you’ve enjoyed episode 1 thus far, please DON’T LEAVE QUIETLY; help us trend by SHARING this piece on your social media: Facebook Walls, Twitter, Instagram, Telegram, Signal and WhatsApp statuses. You can also even SHARE to your contacts. Please use the hashtag #thatonecall when you do so we can trace it. Thank you.

Also, don’t forget to COMMENT (it’s so easy to!) and LIKE this post (scroll down a bit!) Don’t be stingy!!! lol

BTW this blog has more awesome posts for you…check them out!!!


20 thoughts on “THAT ONE CALL (Episode 1) – short story

Leave a comment