LETTERS TO ADAM (letter 1; I am not Orpah)…

Hi guys, I’m Ama Gee💃, the newest member of the Kodi Kodi Sio team and this is my first post. yaay!! Make me feel welcome😍🥰😇

I hope to bring you many interesting write-ups now that I’m here and bring smiles to your faces so, today, I start with a letter — A letter to Adam — supposedly my Adam — hopefully the first of many letters…lol. You can consider it the feminine version of Agostino’s Dear Future Wife letter series but they are not direct replies. Maybe, in the near future, some letters will seek to do that and present the female perspective😉. Stick with me to find out…lol.

Anyway, I do hope you enjoy reading this letter and please be sure to leave me a comment so I know how it made you feel. Enjoy!!!

Dearest Adam,

I am not sure why I am writing to you. Do you even read? I am questioning why I choose to call you Adam. I don’t know why yet. All I believe is that, you are my beginning. Those that have come before you do not count.  In another letter, I will tell you about them.

I am curious though, in this era of bad marriages and skyrocketing divorce rates, in this generation where less and less people actually believe in the institution of marriage, are you confident of settling down? Or are you wary of marriage? Do those statistics ever bother you? Perhaps, when we meet I will know if the rampant stories of failed marriages, especially the supposed Christian ones, ever sapped life from the perfect picture you had in mind. My purpose for this letter remains the same; to convince you to keep hope alive. I am waiting for you.

There is one thing I need you to know immediately though:

Dear Adam, I am not Orpah!

You know her right? The other woman in the beautiful love and loyalty story in the Old Testament. The other lady with Mama Naomi and Sister Ruth. Yes, that lady! Today, I want to tell you that I am not her, neither am I like her.

You remember the Orpah story right? How the taste of her life before was so strong, how she missed her past so much that she chose to return to them when things changed? I am not Orpah. I will not let the tastes from my past be my standard. I will not let what is and was sin be my measuring rod. When you wrap your arms around me, I won’t recall Kwesi’s embrace and question why yours is a little too tight. No. Rather, I will choose to enjoy your hugs and wish for more. When you kiss me, I will not miss Kwame’s “frenchie” just because you missed my favourite spot on my lip. No. Actually we’ll just figure our way out together. Those stolen moments were wrong and how dare I compare a holy covenant to sin? I am not Orpah!

I will not miss home so badly that I ever behave like I want to leave: when you forget to pray over my head and speak life to me while I sleep I won’t miss daddy. When you let my birthday pass unnoticed I won’t rush to tell my godmother, who never has. And when you look at me and I feel you are disenchanted, I will try not to think of mama whose love has never been doubted. I will look at you and recall that I made a vow to leave and cleave. I will seek to ginger and spark some vibes just to make up for the oversights. I will choose to uphold you to a higher esteem than them all and be understanding and loving, no matter what. I am not Orpah.

I will not just cry when the unfortunate happens. I will not sing dirges with my tears while I allow my mind to construct the escape to better. No. I won’t do that. I will want to work the unclear with you. I will want to go on the adventure with you.

So, don’t ever ask me to leave; don’t ask me to go back or ask me to go back to my parents’ house. Don’t! Promise me you won’t. For in those hard moments, I will affirm my love for you all over again. I will remind you that your people are my people and your God is my God. Cos yes, they are!

Ady boo, I wonder about you though; true ooo!!! I do that a lot of times, mostly unconsciously too…lol

I often wonder how we will meet and I’ve speculated on many scenarios…hmm…are you that wrong phone call that got me talking for three hours? Are you that crush that sends me poems every Tuesday?

Do you think we will know we are meant to be when the sun kisses the sea in the perfect sunset? Or when the wind blows as the Mexican song from Cuando Sias Mia begins to play and our eyes lock in an endless embrace?

letter-to-adam-pic-6

I have imagined showing you these letters. In fact, I plan on dropping them on your chair on our wedding day so you read and not get jittery while you wait for me to walk in.

My darling, I am looking forward to you every day.

I am crossing the years and rewriting the bridal party with every passing day. I am constantly asking if you have eaten and if you are sleeping.

I am waiting for you. I know you will come and I still want you to know, I am not Orpah.

Love as warm as a camp fire,

Ama Gee.

Ok…so now that you’re done laughing or scowling…lol…please hurry up and harass the SHARE buttons…COMMENT and LIKE first though…I’m watching!!!…lol

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

51 thoughts on “LETTERS TO ADAM (letter 1; I am not Orpah)…

      1. That was soo romantic, and it got me reading and dreaming at the same time. Congratulations, my friend and course mate.

        Like

  1. Gee, I’m loving this,your Adam I’m sure is head over heels
    This isn’t for me but my oh my
    I’m wowed
    I’m in lost in the wonderland

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow Gee!! I enjoyed it and I wish I was your this Adam🥰🥰. I loved every bit of it and you’ve encouraged me to also write to my Adam🥰🥰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reading it in light of knowing you and knowing you really are waiting for Adam makes it sweeter and more poignant. Can’t wait to meet Adam. He is one blessed man indeed. Keep it up.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hah! Finally 😅I never thought I’d see this day😭😂😂😂😂.
    But this is spectacular , humorous yet targeted. Adam better turn up quickly, he doesn’t know what he’s missing.😂🤗
    And Gee, the imagery tho! You’ve set my mind free to dream😅😂🤭.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wooooooooooow😍😘
    Can’t wait for that special day, when Adam will read all the letter💓
    I won’t be Orpah…
    I love this Letter

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Words to live by: “I will not let the tastes from my past be my standard. I will not let what is and was sin be my measuring rod.”👌🏾👌🏾

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So this might be unpopular but I loved the fact that the unknown man here is Adam, the first human who presents an idea of who a man should be and that is beautiful to me. There is an element of hope and strength in wanting to work things out and not backing out that makes this piece lovely. It draws you in, and keeps it realistic. I also like how in the beginning, you express that you hope he might be waiting on love and is not overcrowded by all the divorce, and disregard for marriage now a day, and them go on to express that you haven’t given up and that is admirable. Maybe I am over analyzing the text but I really loved it and it had a refreshing feel to it. Let’s gooo!!!! More to come! More to come!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. 😍😍😍😍😍😍. Adam is so blessed. I know you’d surely be his Eve too….bone of his bones and the flesh of his flesh🙃

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I loved every bit of this letter. I felt the warmness and challenge it throws not to be Opah. Thank you ❤️

    Like

Leave a comment